Energy Innovation Scholars Program

Author: Alfonso Alarcon

Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Annette Sobel

EIS is a program for Texas Tech students at the intersection of energy technology, public policy, innovation, technology transfer and commercialization. The goal is to educate the next generation of industry leaders by providing them an opportunity to learn about and discuss current & future energy-related issues, challenges and opportunities in industry, government, academia, and the private sector. The program will last one semester; participating students will be awarded a $500 scholarship and a certificate for successfully completing the program.

Students may also apply for independent study credit in the Department of Electrical Engineering.


The Global Laboratory for Energy Asset Management and Manufacturing combines the research and commercialization expertise of Texas Tech University with the field testing, certification and development expertise of private partners. Research Areas include wind, solar, battery storage, weather and energy forecasting, cyber physical security, and micro-grid.

Student Profiles

The application will be open to Texas Tech undergraduate students from all majors, colleges, and academic classifications; only 10 students will be invited to participate. Criteria for selection include: academic achievement,
expressed interest in the energy fields, and practical experience.

Prospective Partners and Supporters in Area of Energy, Economics and Law –

Rawls College of Business;
Energy Law program – School of Law;
National Wind Institute;
TTU Office of Research Commercialization;
TTU Innovation Hub at Research Park; TTU Office of the Vice
President for Research;
Lubbock Angel Network;
Lubbock Economic Development Alliance (LEDA);
The High Ground of Texas.

Session Format

Weekly sessions will run from 6:00 to 7:45 p.m. every Wednesday from August 30th to November 1st, 2017 at the TTU Innovation Hub. The GLEAMM Distinguished Speakers will have an opportunity to talk about their professional/academic activities for the first 45 minutes and a 15-minute Q&A session will follow. The Scholars will engage in a discussion from 7:00 to 7:30 p.m. that will cover assigned readings/technical papers. Dinner will be served at 7:30 p.m.

Applications are closed.

Program description


Raymundo Roig, Chemical Engineering

Brandon Palomo, Chemical Engineering and Cell and Molecular Biology

Sabrina Benge, Computer Engineering

Doug Foster, Computer Engineering

Vijayanta Jain, Computer Science

Ryan Hutchinson, Computer Science

Derek Tully, Industrial Engineering

Emily Johnson, Wind Energy

Sarah Babson, Mechanical Engineering

Trystin Morales, Wind Energy

Leadership Team:

Hunter Hall, Energy Commerce

Robert Primm-Heimerman, Mechanical Engineering

Rudy Pearce, Mechanical Engineering