Spark Conference Logo–2017
Spark Conference2019-01-27T20:26:43-06:00
On Thursday, April 27th and Friday, April 28th, the Innovation Hub at Research Park hosted the Spark 2017 conference highlighting the GLEAMM innovation Poster competition. A competition designed to forward innovation in key areas of our society.

This competition provides an opportunity for Texas Tech faculty and students to create innovative technology conceptual designs, research and development of modeling/simulation, gaming, big data analytics, operational guidance and evaluation tools surrounding the following areas:

Cyber physical security Next generation renewable energy Energy conservation systems

Specifically, the competition is interested in posters addressing advanced energy control systems for smart cities, design projects that integrate specific and sensitive detection algorithms, novel encryption technology that adapts to smart controllers, Nanomaterials, and sensors, as well as effective cyber metrics for technologies to be proposed.

This call for Poster submissions provides an opportunity for students and faculty to address human factors issues, vulnerability assessments and systems engineering analysis of software/hardware/controller interfaces and interactions with the human operator & operational environment.

• The relevant technologies and research should be deployable within five years and have a clear market and commercialization potential.

• Industry partners are encouraged.

• Your proposal must be disclosed to the Office of Research Commercialization.

o Contact Cameron Smith, / 806-742-4105

o Disclosures must be submitted no later than 5:00 pm, April 1st, 2017

Evaluation process:

Posters are judged by a team of subject matter experts, and announced at the GLEAMM sponsored Spark 2017 Conference 2-day event.


Surface Coating

First Place: $2,000

Technology: Surface Coating

Team Members (from left to right): Hubmerto Bocanegra Evans, Burak Aksak, Luciano Castillo (not pictured)

Hyper-Accelerated Wake Kinematics

Second Place: $ 1,000

Technology: Hyper-Accelerated Wake Kinematics Simulator 2.0.

Team Member: Sarah Clemens

Statistically Significant Full-Scale Wake Characterization

Third Place: $500

Technology: Statistically Significant Full-Scale Wake Characterization.

Team Members (from left to right): Theresa Aguilar, Tassia Penha Pereira

Autonomous Control of Microgrids

Third Place: $500

Technology: Autonomous Control of Microgrids.

Team Members (from left to right): Beibei Ren, Yegin Wang, Sanka Liyanage (not pictured)